The Georgia Piedmont Tech Driver Education Program, licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver Services, consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of private behind-the-wheel training.
Additionally, students must also obtain 40 additional hours of driving experience, 6 hours of behind the wheel training. All or some of those 40 hours can be obtained at Georgia Piedmont Tech with hourly lessons or package programs. Parents of students under 18 years old will be required to sign a document confirming program completion at the Georgia Department of Drivers Services. For more information, view and print the “DDS Parental Guide”.
Students are required to attend each class on time. Classroom grades will be based upon attitude, participation and achievement. Students should attend each class with a notebook, and pen or pencil. Textbooks and all materials will be provided to each student by Georgia Piedmont Tech. The cost of the course is $350.00.
The Georgia Driver’s Education Grant Scholarship Program
The Georgia Driver’s Education Commission offers the Georgia Driver’s Education Grant Scholarship Program to offer driver’s education to Georgia students. The grant scholarship program is open to Georgia residents ages fifteen through seventeen who wish to satisfy the Joshua’s Law driver’s education requirement by completed thirty hours of classroom instruction and six hours of behind the wheel driving instruction with an approved instructor.
- First priority – Scholarship applicants who are a child or dependent of a public safety professional or member of the United States military killed in the line of duty.
- Second priority – Scholarship applicants who can demonstrate a need based on family income.
- Third priority – Scholarship applicants who do not meet the criteria set forth in the first priority and second priority outlined above.
Grant scholarship allocations are evenly distributed among Georgia’s United States congressional districts. Apply for the Georgia Driver’s Education Grant Scholarship Program today!
Successful completion of class provides a DDS Completion Certificate for a 10% auto insurance premium reduction, which is required by state law. To receive the premium reduction, parent must have a clean driving record for past 3 years. The premium reduction is valid for three years.