Welcome GPTC Driver's Education School

Class Schedule Fall 2017

The Georgia Driver's Education Commission offers the Georgia Driver's Education Grant Scholarship Program to offer driver's education to Georgia students. The grant scholarship program is open to Georgia residents ages fifteen through seventeen who wish to satisfy the Joshua's Law driver's education requirement by completed thirty hours of classroom instruction and six hours of behind the wheel driving instruction with an approved instructor. First priority will be given to grant scholarship applicants who are a child or dependent of a public safety professional or member of the United States military killed in the line of duty. Second priority will be given to scholarship applicants who can demonstrate a need based on family income. Third priority will be given to all applicants who do not meet the criteria set forth in the first priority and second priority outlined above. Grant scholarship allocations are evenly distributed among Georgia's United States congressional districts.

The link to apply can be found here: 

https://georgiadrivers.ga.gov/gohs/gohshome.html

Bring your voucher to Georgia Piedmont. Day and weekend classes are being formed weekly at our Rockdale Lithonia and Clarkston campuses!!!!!

Rockdale Campus
1064 Culpepper Drive
Conyers, Georgia 30094
Lithonia Campus
6720 Marbut Road
Lithonia, Georgia 30058
Clarkson Campus
495 North Indian Creek
Clarkson, Georgia 30021

Georgia Piedmont Driver Education Program, licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver Services, consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of private behind-the-wheel training.  Historically, students enrolled in this program were teenagers.  Now however, effective January 1, 2002, under O.C.G.A. 40-5-22, option (A), ANY person, TEENAGER or ADULT, must complete this driver education program prior to obtaining their initial driver’s license in Georgia.

Further, each applicant must also obtain 40 additional hours of driving experience, 6 hours of behind the wheel training. All or a portion of those 40 hours can be obtained at Georgia Piedmont with hourly lessons or package programs.  Parents of applicant’s under 18 years old will be required to sign an affidavit at the DDS attesting to program completion.  Click here to view and print the “DDS Parental Guide” for more information on the special Class D teenage driver’s license requirements, affidavit and time log.

Under state law, O.C.G.A. 40-5-22, individuals under 18 years of age must complete a 4 hour Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program, commonly referred to as ADAP, before a driver’s license can be issued. 

Students are required to attend class each and on time.  Classroom grades will be based upon attitude, participation and achievement.  Students should attend each class with a notebook, and  pen or pencil.  Textbooks and all materials will be provided to each student by Georgia Piedmont Technical College.

Successful completion of class provides a DDS Completion Certificate for a 10% auto insurance premium reduction, which is required by state law. To receive the premium reduction, parent must have a clean driving record for past 3 years. The premium reduction is valid for three years.

Teenage Classes & Driving Lessons and Adult Driving Lessons
Georgia Piedmont Driving School, licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver Services, operates Teenage and Adult Driver Education Programs. These school based course programs are offered in classes in both public and private schools in the state of Georgia and in our own school classroom locations throughout Metropolitan Atlanta, Georgia.
On January 1, 2002, the requirements changed for anyone under age 17 to obtain an initial Georgia driver’s license.  Now, under O.C.G.A. 40-5-22, option (A), ALL under age 17 applicants must complete a driver education program consisting of a minimum of 30 hours of classroom and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training.  Our program meets the requirements for driver education under that code section.
As an alternative to (A), mentioned above, option (B) requires a signed affidavit stating the applicant has accumulated a total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving experience, including at least 6 hours of driving at night.  To assist individuals in completing the requirements under option (B), Georgia Piedmont Driving School provides private, in-car lessons, featuring training vehicles with our exclusive Georgia Piedmont Driver's Education cars, and two brake pedal system.  

 

If you do not qualify for the scholarship the tuition/fee breakdown can be found here.

Contact our Driver’s Ed office today to get registered at 404-297-9522 ext. 1829 or via email at driversed@gptc.edu.